Best Information Security Certifications

Best Information Security Certifications

Best Information Security Certifications

With IT systems playing an integral role in daily business functions, network security is an essential area every organization needs to invest in. Innovation is fast-paced in the tech world, yielding benefits to both legitimate interests and bad actors. As an IT professional, you need to keep up with recent developments. Here are the top information security certifications to pursue in 2019.

Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

Cloud computing can be an asset to organizations in need of accessible data storing options. However, these systems present unique security issues.

CCSP is available to IT professionals in mid- to advanced positions who have the following experience:

• One year working in cloud computing

• Three years in information security

• Total of five years in information technology, full-time and paid

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

Hackers have made recent news by holding business and government data hostage, adversely affecting thousands to millions of innocent people. The CEH certification can provide you with the necessary skills to combat these bad actors by keeping one step ahead of their tactics. To earn this certificate, you may either accumulate two years of experience or attend a five-day training course approved by the EC Council.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

CISM goes beyond simply implementing network security plans; holders of this certification actually develop the best practices other IT professionals use to safeguard systems.

There are several requirements:

• At least five years of security experience

• Agree to adhere to the ISACA’s Code of Professional Ethics

• Pass the exam

• Undergo continuing education in accordance with ISACA’s policy

• Recertify after three years

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Professionals seeking advanced information security credentials should seriously consider CISSP. Holders usually have an enormous responsibility in terms of creating and managing their organization’s security protocol. Certification requires either a college degree and four years of working in two or more Common Body of Knowledge domains, or five years spent working in two or more Common Body of Knowledge domains.

Certified Protection Professional (CPP)

Anyone seeking a CISO position needs to hold a CPP certification. This is one of the most advanced qualifications you can receive, and prepares you for the decision- and policy-making demanded of a CISO. This program requires nine years of working in network security, including three years of security function responsibility.

CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Security+ is entry-level, which means many organizations expect you to have it. This certification covers many areas of information security and is highly respected among industry professionals, in part because the U.S. Department of Defense has approved it. Prerequisites for this qualification include two years of network security experience.

NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF), Foundation and Practitioner

These are two separate certifications, with the Practitioner building on the skills established in the Foundation program. The NCSF Foundation program introduces individuals to the NIST Cybersecurity Framework. The Practitioner program equips learners with the skills to work within said framework.

Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

Those interested in the more technical aspects of ethical hacking should look into an OSCP certification. This program instructs individuals in actual system penetration tactics and requires them to successfully attack designated machines within a controlled environment.

SANS GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC)

This certification is recommended for new entrants to the network security field, as there are no official prerequisites. The program includes training and an exam and provides individuals with the skills necessary to fulfill “hands-on” security roles. To recertify after four years, you must pay a maintenance fee and accumulate no less than 36 continuing professional experience credits.

Enterprise Technology Services is your IT support expert in Phoenix. Our certified staff can assist you with a wide range of IT services, including data storage, managed it service programs and network security solutions. To find out more, contact us online or give us a call at 602-426-8600.